Sunset on Summer Solstice

(Posting the day after because I had no signal last night).

My session was exactly what I needed it to be. Connecting, grounding and containing. we sat with the fear and doubts. We noticed the growing excitement and hope.

I left Mark’s office and drove straight up into the highlands. I could feel the anxiety melt away with each mile.

I’ve surprised myself with how much I’ve leaned into this solitude. Perhaps I do quite like my own company after all. There’s this body felt sense of remembering that I do know myself and I’m safe inside myself. I feel calm and I keep catching myself smiling. I think a lot of healing has gone on under the surface and because ‘family life’ is still my biggest trigger, I never get to feel into the growth when I’m around my family. This time by myself feels solid and real and grounded.

Tonight I drove out of the valley to a point where I could watch the sun setting. It was breathtaking. On my way back, I stopped the car in the middle of the forest and listened to the birds and rustling life enveloped by the trees and although it sounds like a cliche, I really did feel at one with it all. The scent of the forest has to be one of my favourite smells. It smells as life giving as it is.

Around 11pm I took a walk, at dusk, to post this and then head home to get some rest but I couldn’t get enough signal so I waited until today.

Another beautiful sunny day… feeling so much gratitude for the stillness inside.

Summer Solstice 2021 sunset

7 thoughts on “Sunset on Summer Solstice

  1. What a beautiful calm picture! This all sounds wonderful for you Lucy.

    I wanted to tell you that I have been recording my sessions for a few weeks now. It has been invaluable. I have learned a lot about my own defenses, the fear of my own emotions, and how much pressure I exude trying to hold them in. I find myself crying as I listen to myself crying and it is helping me to find some self compassion. I am becoming aware of how much I don’t hear or remember the good things she says or mispercieve them until I listen to the recording. I learned that I don’t pay attention to how I am feeling and I need to learn to breathe and try to keep pace with her calmness and let it envelope me. It has been helpful in so many ways.

    I am excited for you and hopeful for all that this experience will give you! Lots of hugs!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m absolutely delighted that you’ve found recording your sessions so helpful. That’s exactly been my experience too. I think it’s such a useful and grounding tool and helps me stay connected to Mark and out work and helps me find compassion for myself which is a glorious thing to feel after a lifetime of never going anywhere near self kindness.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. LovingSummer

    This sounds like such a brilliant trip Lucy, just what the doctor ordered! I’m really pleased it went so well for you, if not a little envious! 😅😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww I completely understand this and have had a few friends say it too. It was literally the only few days it would be possible coz of my husbands work hours temporarily fitting around school. Otherwise I’d have been stuck. It’s not always feasible for people with kids to just get away for a solo break but if ever it is an option I would wholeheartedly recommend it! It’s been so nourishing and although I had a big slump upon coming home, my session today really helped me process it all and let the good feelings take root.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LovingSummer

        I’m not surprised about the slump but brilliant to hear you’re session has helped you process it all so it can take root, as you called it (nice way of putting it!).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment